International Reconstruction Conference on Liberia

5 – 6 February 2004, Trusteeship Council Chamber

AGENDA

Thursday 5th February 2004: Technical Consultations

1000 - 1030 **OPENING REMARKS**

- Mr. Mark Malloch Brown, UN Development Group
- Mr. Andrew Natsios, United States
- Mr. Mats Karlsson, World Bank

1030 – 1145 PRESENTATION OF THE RESULTS-FOCUSED TRANSITIONAL FRAMEWORK, FINANCIAL REQUIREMENTS, COORDINATION MECHANISMS AND TECHNICAL DISCUSSIONS ON THE PLAN OF ACTION

- Mr. Christian G. Herbert, National Transitional Government of Liberia
- Mr. Harry Greaves, National Transitional Government of Liberia
- Mr. David Nabarro, UN Development Group
- Mr. Richard Verspyck, World Bank
- Mr. Arnim Schwidrowski, International Monetary Fund
- Mr. Sipke Brouwer, European Commission

1145 – 1315 HUMANITARIAN FORUM – CONSOLIDATED APPEAL

- Ms. Carolyn McAskie, Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs
- Mr. Abou Moussa, UN Country Team Liberia
- Ms. Zobaida Hassim-Ashagrie, UNHCR
- Ms. Rima Sala, UNICEF
- Mr. Gemmo Ladesani, WFP
- Mr. Julius Coles, Africare
- Sister Barbara Brilliant, FMM Catholic Mission
- Ms. Nicola Reindorp, OXFAM International

1315 – 1430 No host lunch

1600 – 1630 CO-CHAIRS SUMMARY AND CONCLUDING REMARKS

- Mr. Mark Malloch Brown, UN Development Group
- Mr. Andrew Natsios, United States
- Mr. Mats Karlsson, World Bank

International Reconstruction Conference on Liberia

5 – 6 February 2004, Trusteeship Council Chamber

Friday 6th February 2004: Ministerial Level Pledging Conference

0900 - 0930	 OPENING REMARKS Mr. Kofi Annan, Secretary General of the United Nations Mr. Colin Powell, Secretary of State, United States Mr. Callisto Madavo, Regional Vice President, Africa Region, World Bank Mr. Thomas Kitt, Minister of State for Development Cooperation and Human Rights, Ireland (EU)
0930 – 0945	 LIBERIA'S VISION FOR THE TRANSITION Chairman C. Gyude Bryant, National Transitional Government of Liberia
0945 – 1000	REPORT FROM THE SRSG AND COORDINATOR FOR THE UN IN LIBERIA Mr. Jacques Paul Klein, SRSG, UNMIL
1000 – 1030	 STATUS OF THE IMPLEMENTATION OF THE ACCRA AGREEMENT International Contact Group on Liberia Co-Chairs: Mr. Hans Dahlgren, State Secretary, Sweden (EU) Mr. Nana Akufo-Addo (MP), Foreign Minister, Ghana (ECOWAS) ECOWAS Implementation Monitoring Committee: Mr. Mohamed Ibn Chambas, Secretary General
1030 – 1100	 PRESENTATION OF THE RESULTS-FOCUSED TRANSITIONAL FRAMEWORK, FINANCIAL REQUIREMENTS AND COORDINATION MECHANISMS Mr. Christian G. Herbert, Minister of Planning & Economic Affairs, NTGL Mr. David Nabarro, Technical Coordinator, Liberia Reconstruction Needs Assessment, UNDG Mr. Mats Karlsson, Country Director for Liberia, World Bank Mr. Bio Tchané, Director of Africa Department, International Monetary Fund
1100 – 1230	 THE INTERNATIONAL RESPONSE: MINISTERS OF THE CORE GROUP Mr. Thomas Kitt, Minister of State for Development Cooperation and Human Rights, Ireland (EU) Mr. Dominique de Villepin, Minister of Foreign Affairs, France Mr. Masaharu Kohno, African Personal Representative of the Prime Minister, Japan Ms. Annika Söder, Deputy Minister for International Development, Sweden Mr. Chris Mullin, Parliamentary Under-Secretary, United Kingdom Ms. Constance Newman, Assistance Administrator for Africa, USAID
1230 – 1300	Press Conference (For accredited journalists and invited members of delegations only)
1230 – 1430	No Host Hunch for Delegates
1300 – 1430	Heads of Delegations Luncheon hosted by the US/UN Delegates Dining Room 6, General Assembly Building, 4 th Fl.
1430– 1630 1630 - 1700	STATEMENTS AND PLEDGES SUMMARY AND CONCLUDING REMARKS FROM CO-CHAIRS Mr. Mork Mollogh Proyn, Administrator and Chair, LINDG.
	 Mr. Mark Malloch Brown, Administrator and Chair, UNDG Mr. Callisto Madavo, Regional Vice President, Africa Region, World Bank Mr. Andrew Natsios, Administrator, USAID