Translated from Arabic

Republic of the Sudan Ministry of Foreign Affairs Office of the Minister

Statement issued by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of the Sudan

Pursuant to Republican Decree No. 148 of 2 March 2017 regarding the baselines used for measuring the maritime areas of the Republic of the Sudan, and having reviewed the publications of the Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea;

The Republic of the Sudan affirms its rejection and non-recognition of the Decree of the President of the Arab Republic of Egypt No. 27 of 9 January 1990 insofar as it concerns Sudanese maritime borders north of the 22nd parallel and the maritime coordinates claimed by Egypt in paragraphs 50 to 56 to be within its Red Sea maritime borders. Those coordinates are as follows:

Sequence	Latitude (north)	Longitude (east)
50	22° 53′ 12′′	36° 20′ 06′′
51	22° 36′ 30′′	36° 35′ 12″
52	22° 20′ 18′′	36° 39′ 24′′
53	22° 16′ 12′′	36° 48′ 54′′
54	22° 03′ 48′′	36° 53′ 54′′
55	22° 01′ 30′′	36° 53′ 48′′
56	22° 00′ 00′′	36° 52′ 54′′

The coordinates above are within the maritime borders of the Hala'ib Triangle, which has been under Egyptian military occupation since 1995. Thus they fall within the Red Sea maritime areas of the Republic of the Sudan. It should be noted that the Hala'ib Triangle is Sudanese territory located within the political and geographical borders of the Republic of the Sudan, which have been recognized internationally over a number of historical eras, including during the British-Egyptian condominium of the Sudan, and that the Sudan inherited these borders upon independence in 1956. There is no dispute regarding this matter, as attested by United Nations records and maps. The Sudan has written to the Security Council regarding this matter every year since 1958, and it did so again on 5 January 2017 in order to reaffirm its rejection of the Egyptian Government on the basis of the current situation that are prejudicial to the sovereignty of the Sudan over the Hala'ib Triangle and its maritime borders.

Issued by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of the Sudan on 3 March 2017.