HEADQUARTERS • SIEGE NEW YORK, NY 10017 TEL.: 1 (212) 963.1234 • FAX: 1 (212) 963.4879

REFERENCE:

21 December 2011

Excellency,

On 10 and 11 December 2012, the General Assembly will commemorate the thirtieth anniversary of the opening for signature of the 1982 United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (the "Convention") in a plenary meeting.

On that occasion, the Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea, Office of Legal Affairs, intends to present each participant with a small commemorative publication containing personal reflections of those who participated in the negotiations which led to the adoption of the Convention in 1982 as well as those who have worked in the areas closely related to the Convention in the years following the adoption.

Knowing of the involvement of your State in the development of the Convention, we would like to invite one (or two) of your delegates to the meetings of the Third United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea, or someone who has been or is now closely working in the law of the sea to send us their thoughts, memories of the meetings, reflections, ideas about the future of the Convention and celebratory remarks on the occasion of the 30^{th} anniversary, in the form of a letter of 400-800 words (up to two pages), preferably in English or French, or if not possible, in any of the other official UN languages, prior to 1 March 2012.

For ease of reference, please find attached herewith the non-exhaustive list of personalities who were remembered at the commemoration of the twentieth anniversary.

The letter may be sent on paper to the address below or by email to doalos@un.org; rosenboom@un.org.:

Attn: Ms. Annebeth Rosenboom Senior Legal Officer United Nations Secretariat Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea Office of Legal Affairs DC2-0432 New York, NY 10017 USA

Ms. Rosenboom may also be contacted, should there be any questions.



Provided that sufficient submissions have been received, these would be bundled in a publication. We would send a copy of the booklet, following the commemoration on 10 and 11 December 2012, to those submitting a letter.

We are grateful for your assistance in sharing these thoughts and recollections with us and look forward to receiving the letter(s).

Please accept, Excellency, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Patricia O'Brien Under-Secretary-General for Legal Affairs The Legal Counsel

ANNEXES

A. Personalities of the Third United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea remembered at the commemoration

Andrés Aguilar (Venezuela) Slobodan Alfirević

(Croatia)

Hamilton Shirley

Amerasinghe (Sri Lanka) Hans G. Andersen

(Iceland)

David Anderson (United

Kingdom)
Ib R. Andreasen
(Denmark)

Alfonso Arias-Schreiber

(Peru)

John S. Bailey (Australia) Juan Miguel Bakula (Peru)

Lennox Ballah (Trinidad

and Tobago)
Peter D. Barabolya
(Russian Federation)
Mohamed Bedjaoui

(Algeria)

Christopher. D. Beeby

(New Zealand)

J. Alan Beesley (Canada) Mohamed Bennouna

(Morocco)

Adriaan Bos (Netherlands) K. K. Breckenridge (Sri

Lanka)

Keith Brennan (Australia) Hortencio Brilliantes

(Philippines)

Peter Brückner (Denmark)

Lucius Caflisch (Switzerland)

Carlos Calero-Rodrigues

(Brazil)

Jorge Castañeda (Mexico) Claude Chayet (France) Amadou Cissé (Senegal) Thomas A. Clingan (United States)

Charles Manyang d'Awol

(Sudan)

H. G. Darwin (United

Kingdom)

Manuel Primo de Brito Limpo Serra (Portugal) Hasjim Djalal (Indonesia) Jean-François Dobelle

(France)

Rachid Driss (Tunisia)
R. Jean Dupuy (France)
Antonius Eitel (Germany)
Mohamed Mustapha El
Gharbi (Morocco)
Paul Bamela Engo

(Cameroon)

Jose Espinosa (Philippines)

Jens Evensen (Norway) P.N. Evseev (Russian

Federation)

Antoine Fattal (Lebanon) Gil Fernandes (Guinea-

Bissau)

Carl-August Fleischhauer

(Germany)

Masato Fujisaki (Japan) Reynaldo Galindo Pohl (El

Salvador)

Ivan F. Glumov (Russian

Federation)
Günter Goerner
(Germany)

Wojciech Góralczyk

(Poland)

Ernesto de la Guardia

(Argentina)

Ramiro Saraiva Guerreiro

(Brazil)

Elsa Kelly de Guibourg

(Argentina)

Gerhard Hafner (Austria) Kari Hakapää (Finland) Theodore Halkiopoulos

(Greece)

Mohammad Al-Haj Hamoud (Iraq)

Ralph Harry (Australia) Abdel Majid A. Hassan

(Sudan)

F. M. Hayes (Ireland) Asterius M. Hyera (United Republic of Tanzania) Vladimir Ibler (Croatia) Jorge E. Illueca (Panama) Georgy G. Ivanov (Russian

Federation)

Roger Jackling (United

Kingdom)

Andreas Jacovides

(Cyprus)

Guenther Jaenicke

(Germany)

S. P. Jagota (India) Roger Jeannel (France) Tomoyoshi Kamenaga

(Japan)

James Kateka (United Republic of Tanzania) Yuri B. Kazmin (Russian

Federation)

Allan Kirton (Jamaica) Valeri S. Kniazev (Russian

Federation)

Karl Hermann Knoke

(Germany) Tommy T.B. Koh (Singapore)

Igor Kolosovsky (Russian

Federation)

Vladimír Kopal (Czech

Republic)

Abdul G. Koroma (Sierra

Leone)

F. N. Kovalev (Russian

Federation)

Semen Kozirev (Russian

Federation)

Richard Král (Czech

Republic)

Mochtar Kusumaatmadja

(Indonesia)

Guy de Lacharrière

(France)

José Manuel Lacleta

Muñoz (Spain)

Paul André Lapointe

(Canada)

Elihu Lauterpacht (United

Kingdom/Australia)

L. H. Legault (Canada)

Gisler K. Libaba (United

Republic of Tanzania)

Julio César Lupinacci

(Uruguay)

Lev L. Lyubimov (Russian

Federation)

Alexander L. Makovski

(Russian Federation)

Elisabeth Mann Borgese

(Austria)

E.J. Manner (Finland)

William R. Mansfield

(New Zealand)

Vicente Marotta Rangel

(Brazil)

Mohamed Mouldi Marsit

(Tunisia)

M. McKeown (Australia)

Alexander P. Metelnikov

(Russian Federation)

Cornel A. Metternich

(Germany)

Jamshid Momtaz (Iran)

Jean Monnier

(Switzerland)

John Norton Moore

(United States)

H.C. Mott (Australia)

Toru Nakagawa (Japan)

Satya N. Nandan (Fiji) Ni Zhengyu (China)

Francis X Njenga (Kenya)

Shigeru Oda (Japan)

Motoo Ogiso (Japan)

Francisco Orrego Vicuña

(Chile)

Bernard H. Oxman

(United States)

Arvid Pardo (Malta)

José Antonio Pastor

Ridruejo (Spain)

Zvonko Perišic

ZVOIIKO I EIIS.

(Yugoslavia)

Christopher W. Pinto (Sri

Lanka)

Pedro Pinto (Portugal)

Zdeněk Pisk (Czech

Republic)

Luis G. Preval Páez (Cuba)

José Luís Rodrigues

Portero (Portugal)

Arpád Prandler (Hungary)

Blaise Rabetafika

(Madagascar)

Leigh S. Ratiner (USA)

Kenneth Rattray (Jamaica)

Elliot L. Richardson

(United States)

Willem Riphagen

(Netherlands)

Patrick Robinson (Jamaica)

Inocencio Ronquillo

(Philippines)

Shabtai Rosenne (Israel)

Holger Rotkirch (Finland)

Mario Ruivo (Portugal)

Louis B. Sohn (United States) Alvaro de Soto (Peru) Constantin Stavropoulos (Greece) John Stevenson (United States) Shinichi Sugihara (Japan) Janusz Symonides (Poland) Alberto Szekely (Mexico) Manuel Tello (Mexico) Malcolm J.C. Templeton (New Zealand) Hisayoshi Terai (Japan) Sérgio Martins Thompson-Flores (Brazil) Tullio Treves (Italy) Helmut Tuerk (Austria) Necmettin Tuncel (Turkey) Luis Valencia Rodríguez (Ecuador) José Luis Vallarta (Mexico) Alfred van der Essen (Belgium) Nicolo Varvesi (Italy)

Charles Vella (Malta) Helge Vindenes (Norway) Budislav Vukas (Croatia) Jaap A. Walkate (Netherlands) Tieya Wang (China) Joseph S. Warioba (United Republic of Tanzania) Karl Wolf (Austria) Harry Wuensche (Germany) Igor I. Yakovlev (Russian Federation) Soji Yamamoto (Japan) Alejandro D. Yango (Philippines) Alexander Yankov (Bulgaria) Victor A. Yarmolyuk (Russian Federation) Mustafa Kamil Yasseen (United Arab Emirates) José Antonio Yturriaga Barberán (Spain) Fernando Zegers (Chile)

Hongzeng Zhang (China)

Former members of the secretariat of the United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea: Bernardo Zuleta (Colombia), Hugo Caminos (Argentina), Gritakumar E. Chitty (Sri Lanka), David L.D. Hall (Australia), Jean-Pierre Lévy (France), L. Dolliver M. Nelson (Grenada), Felipe Paolillo (Uruguay), Ismat Steiner (United Republic of Tanzania).