## 63/406. Election of five members of the International Court of Justice

The General Assembly, at its 39th and 40th plenary meetings, on 6 November 2008, and the Security Council, at its 6011th and 6012th meetings, on the same date, proceeded independently of one another to elect, in accordance with Articles 2 to 4, 7 to 12 and 14 and 15 of the Statute of the International Court of Justice, rules 150 and 151 of the rules of procedure of the Assembly and rules 40 and 61 of the provisional rules of procedure of the Council, five members of the Court for a nine-year term of office beginning on 6 February 2009 to fill the vacancies occurring on the expiration of the terms of office of Mr. Ronny Abraham (France), Mr. Awn Shawkat Al-Khasawneh (Jordan), Ms. Rosalyn Higgins (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland), Mr. Gonzalo Parra-Aranguren (Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela) and Mr. Raymond Ranjeva (Madagascar).

Having obtained the required absolute majority of votes in both the General Assembly and the Security Council, Mr. Ronny Abraham (France), Mr. Awn Shawkat Al-Khasawneh (Jordan), Mr. Antônio Augusto Cançado Trindade (Brazil), Mr. Christopher Greenwood (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) and Mr. Abdulqawi Ahmed Yusuf (Somalia) were elected as members of the Court for a nine-year term of office beginning on 6 February 2009.

As a result, the International Court of Justice is composed as follows: Mr. Ronny Abraham (France),\*\*\* Mr. Awn Shawkat Al-Khasawneh (Jordan),\*\*\* Mr. Mohamed Bennouna (Morocco),\*\* Mr. Thomas Buergenthal (United States of America),\*\* Mr. Antônio Augusto Cançado Trindade (Brazil),\*\*\* Mr. Christopher Greenwood (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland),\*\*\* Mr. Kenneth Keith (New Zealand),\*\* Mr. Abdul G. Koroma (Sierra Leone),\* Mr. Hisashi Owada (Japan),\* Mr. Bernardo Sepúlveda Amor (Mexico),\*\* Mr. Shi Jiuyong (China),\* Mr. Bruno Simma (Germany),\* Mr. Leonid Skotnikov (Russian Federation),\*\* Mr. Peter Tomka (Slovakia)\* and Mr. Abdulqawi Ahmed Yusuf (Somalia).\*\*\*

## 63/407. Appointment of members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions

At its 56th plenary meeting, on 20 November 2008, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the Fifth Committee, <sup>6</sup> appointed the following persons as members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2009: Ms. Aïcha Afifi, Ms. Renata Archini, Mr. Vladimir A. Iosifov, Ms. Susan M. McLurg and Mr. Alejandro Torres Lépori.

As a result, the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions is composed as follows: Mr. Andrzej T. ABRASZEWSKI (*Poland*),\* Ms. Aïcha AFIFI (*Morocco*),\*\*\* Ms. Renata ARCHINI (*Italy*),\*\*\* Mr. Jorge Flores Callejas (*Honduras*),\*\* Mr. Imtiaz Hussain (*Pakistan*),\*\* Mr. Vladimir A. Iosifov (*Russian Federation*),\*\*\* Ms. Misako Kaji (*Japan*),\*\* Mr. Collen V. Kelapile (*Botswana*),\* Mr. Jerry Kramer (*Canada*),\*\* Mr. Peter Maddens (*Belgium*),\*\* Ms. Susan M. McLurg (*United States of America*),\*\*\* Mr. Stafford Neil (*Jamaica*),\* Mr. Nagesh Singh (*India*),\*\* Mr. Mohammad Mustafa Tal (*Jordan*),\* Mr. Alejandro Torres Lépori (*Argentina*)\*\*\* and Ms. Nonye Udo (*Nigeria*).\*

7

<sup>\*</sup> Term of office expires on 5 February 2012.

<sup>\*\*</sup> Term of office expires on 5 February 2015.

<sup>\*\*\*</sup> Term of office expires on 5 February 2018.

Term of office expires on 31 December 2009.

<sup>\*\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 2010.

<sup>\*\*\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 2011.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>6</sup> A/63/528, para. 6.