63/408. Appointment of members of the Committee on Contributions

At its 56th plenary meeting, on 20 November 2008, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the Fifth Committee, ⁷ appointed the following persons as members of the Committee on Contributions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2009: Mr. Vyacheslav A. Logutov, Mr. Richard Moon, Mr. Hae-yun Park, Mr. Thomas Thomma, Mr. Courtney H. Williams and Mr. Wu Gang.

As a result, the Committee on Contributions is composed as follows: Mr. Joseph ACAKPO-SATCHIVI (*Benin*),** Mr. Kenshiro AKIMOTO (*Japan*),* Mr. Meshal AL-MANSOUR (*Kuwait*),* Mr. Abdelmalek BOUHEDDOU (*Algeria*),** Mr. Petru DUMITRIU (*Romania*),* Mr. Gordon ECKERSLEY (*Australia*),** Mr. Bernardo GREIVER DEL HOYO (*Uruguay*),** Mr. Luis Mariano HERMOSILLO SOSA (*Mexico*),** Mr. Ihor V. HUMENNY (*Ukraine*),* Mr. Vyacheslav A. LOGUTOV (*Russian Federation*),*** Ms. Gobona Susan MAPITSE (*Botswana*),* Mr. Richard MOON (*United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland*),*** Mr. Hae-yun PARK (*Republic of Korea*),*** Mr. Eduardo Manuel da Fonseca Fernandes RAMOS (*Portugal*),** Ms. Lisa P. SPRATT (*United States of America*),* Mr. Thomas THOMMA (*Germany*),*** Mr. Courtney H. WILLIAMS (*Jamaica*)*** and Mr. Wu Gang (*China*).***

63/409. Confirmation of the appointment of members of the Investments Committee

At its 56th plenary meeting, on 20 November 2008, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the Fifth Committee, ⁸ confirmed the reappointment by the Secretary-General of Mr. Masakazu Arikawa, Mr. Madhav Dhar and Mr. Nemir A. Kirdar as members of the Investments Committee for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2009 and the appointment of Ms. Linah K. Mohohlo for the remainder of the term of office of Mr. Khaya Ngqula, beginning on 1 January 2009 and expiring on 31 December 2009.

As a result, the Investments Committee is composed as follows: Mr. Masakazu Arikawa (*Japan*),*** Mr. Emilio J. Cárdenas (*Argentina*),* Mr. Fernando G. Chico Pardo (*Mexico*),* Mr. Madhav Dhar (*India*),*** Mr. Achim Kassow (*Germany*),** Mr. Nemir A. Kirdar (*Iraq*),*** Mr. William J. McDonough (*United States of America*),** Ms. Linah K. Mohohlo (*Botswana*)* and Ms. Hélène Ploix (*France*).**

At the same meeting, the General Assembly, also on the recommendation of the Fifth Committee, ⁹ reappointed Mr. Ivan PICTET (*Switzerland*) as an ad hoc member for a one-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2009 and appointed Mr. Simon JIANG (*China*) as an ad hoc member for a one-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2009 to replace Ms. Afsaneh BESCHLOSS (*Islamic Republic of Iran*).

^{*} Term of office expires on 31 December 2009.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 2010.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 2011.

^{*} Term of office expires on 31 December 2009.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 2010.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 2011.

⁷ A/63/529, para. 4.

⁸ A/63/530, para. 5.

⁹ Ibid., para. 6.