## 66/419. Appointment of the judges of the United Nations Appeals Tribunal

At its 98th plenary meeting, on 23 February 2012, the General Assembly, pursuant to article 3 of the statute of the United Nations Appeals Tribunal, contained in annex II to resolution 63/253 of 24 December 2008, and on the recommendation of the Internal Justice Council, 20 appointed Ms. Rosalyn M. CHAPMAN (*United States of America*), Mr. Jean COURTIAL (*France*) and Mr. Richard LUSSICK (*Samoa*) as judges of the Tribunal for a seven-year term of office beginning on 1 July 2012 to fill the vacancies occurring on the expiration of the terms of office of Mr. Jean COURTIAL, Mr. Kamaljit Singh GAREWAL and Mr. Mark P. PAINTER.

As a result, the United Nations Appeals Tribunal is composed as follows: Ms. Sophia Adinyira (*Ghana*),\* Ms. Rosalyn M. Chapman (*United States of America*),\*\* Mr. Jean Courtial (*France*),\*\* Ms. Mary Faherty (*Ireland*),\* Mr. Richard Lussick (*Samoa*),\*\* Mr. Luis Maria Simón (*Uruguay*)\* and Ms. Inés Weinberg de Roca (*Argentina*).\*

## 66/420. Appointment of a member of the Committee on the Exercise of the Inalienable Rights of the Palestinian People

At its 100th plenary meeting, on 16 March 2012, the General Assembly, in the light of the decision of the Committee on the Exercise of the Inalienable Rights of the Palestinian People conveyed by its Chair to the President of the General Assembly,<sup>21</sup> decided to appoint ECUADOR as a member of the Committee.<sup>22</sup>

As a result, the Committee on the Exercise of the Inalienable Rights of the Palestinian People is composed of the following twenty-five States: AFGHANISTAN, BELARUS, CUBA, CYPRUS, ECUADOR, GUINEA, GUYANA, INDIA, INDONESIA, LAO PEOPLE'S DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC, MADAGASCAR, MALAYSIA, MALI, MALTA, NAMIBIA, NICARAGUA, NIGERIA, PAKISTAN, SENEGAL, SIERRA LEONE, SOUTH AFRICA, TUNISIA, TURKEY, UKRAINE and VENEZUELA (BOLIVARIAN REPUBLIC OF).

## 66/421. Appointment of members of the International Civil Service Commission

## A

At its 102nd plenary meeting, on 19 March 2012, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the Fifth Committee, <sup>24</sup> appointed Mr. Luis Mariano Hermosillo Sosa as a member of the International Civil Service Commission for a term of office beginning on 19 March 2012 and expiring on 31 December 2013, as a result of the resignation of Mr. Gilberto Paranhos Velloso. <sup>25</sup>

Term of office expires on 30 June 2016.

<sup>\*\*</sup> Term of office expires on 30 June 2019.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>20</sup> See A/66/664.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>21</sup> See A/66/742.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>22</sup> See also decision 66/559.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>23</sup> Subsequent to decision 52/317 of 9 December 1997, Yugoslavia ceased to be a member of the Committee as from the fifty-sixth session of the General Assembly, Hungary resigned its seat on the Committee on 1 May 2004 and Romania discontinued its membership on the Committee on 31 May 2005; Nicaragua was admitted to membership as from the sixty-second session and the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela became a member as from the sixty-fifth session

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>24</sup> A/66/746, para. 3.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>25</sup> See A/66/694.