As a result, as of 1 July 2016, the Committee on Conferences is composed of the following 19 Member States:⁵ AUSTRIA,* BAHRAIN,** CENTRAL AFRICAN REPUBLIC,** FRANCE,** GERMANY,*** GHANA,*** HUNGARY,*** IRAN (ISLAMIC REPUBLIC OF),*** JAMAICA,* JAPAN,* LIBERIA,*** MAURITANIA,* NAMIBIA,** PARAGUAY,** QATAR,* RUSSIAN FEDERATION,** SRI LANKA,** UNITED REPUBLIC OF TANZANIA* and UNITED STATES OF AMERICA.*

70/407. Appointment of members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions

 \mathbf{B}^{6}

At its 90th plenary meeting, on 1 April 2016, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the Fifth Committee,⁷ appointed Ms. Carmel Power as a member of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions for a term of office beginning on 16 May 2016 and ending on 31 December 2016, as a result of the resignation of Mr. Richard Moon.

As a result, as of 16 May 2016, the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions is composed as follows: Mr. Takeshi AKAMATSU (*Japan*),* Mr. Pavel CHERNIKOV (*Russian Federation*),** Mr. Fernando DE OLIVEIRA SENA (*Brazil*),** Mr. Ihor HUMENNYI (*Ukraine*),*** Mr. Conrod HUNTE (*Antigua and Barbuda*),*** Mr. Ali A. Ali KURER (*Libya*),** Mr. Dietrich LINGENTHAL (*Germany*),** Mr. Eihab OMAISH, (*Jordan*),*** Ms. Carmel POWER (*United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland*),* Mr. Carlos RUIZ MASSIEU (*Mexico*),* Mr. Babou SENE (*Senegal*),*** Mr. Tesfa Alem SEYOUM (*Eritrea*),*** Mr. David TRAYSTMAN (*United States of America*),** Mr. Devesh UTTAM (*India*),* Ms. Catherine VENDAT (*France*)* and Mr. YE Xuenong (*China*).*

70/408. Appointment of members of the Committee on Contributions

 \mathbf{B}^{8}

At its 95th plenary meeting, on 13 May 2016, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the Fifth Committee,⁹ appointed Mr. Simon Hough as a member of the Committee on Contributions for a term of office beginning on 13 May 2016 and ending on 31 December 2017, as a result of the resignation of Mr. Kunal Khatri.

As a result, as of 13 May 2016, the Committee on Contributions is composed as follows: Mr. Syed Yawar ALI (*Pakistan*),*** Mr. Jean Pierre DIAWARA (*Guinea*),* Ms. Jasminka DINIĆ (*Croatia*),*** Mr. Gordon ECKERSLEY (*Australia*),* Mr. Mohamed A. ELSHAKSHUKI (*Libya*),* Mr. Edward FARIS (*United States of America*),*** Mr. FU Daopeng (*China*),** Mr. Bernardo GREIVER DEL HOYO (*Uruguay*),* Mr. Simon HOUGH (*United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland*),** Mr. Nikolay LOZINSKIY (*Russian Federation*),** Mr. Toshiro OZAWA

^{*} Term of office expires on 31 December 2016.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 2017.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 2018.

^{*} Term of office expires on 31 December 2016.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 2017.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 2018.

⁵ Two vacancies for members from Latin American and Caribbean States remain to be filled for a term of office beginning on the date of appointment and expiring on 31 December 2018.

⁶ Decision 70/407, in section A of the Official Records of the General Assembly, Seventieth session, Supplement No. 49 (A/70/49), vol. II, becomes decision 70/407 A.

⁷ A/70/539/Add.1, para. 3.

⁸ Decision 70/408, in section A of the Official Records of the General Assembly, Seventieth session, Supplement No. 49 (A/70/49), vol. II, becomes decision 70/408 A.

⁹ A/70/540/Add.1, para. 3.

(*Japan*),*** Mr. Pedro Luis PEDROSO CUESTA (*Cuba*),* Mr. Tõnis SAAR (*Estonia*),*** Mr. Henrique da Silveira SARDINHA PINTO (*Brazil*),** Mr. Thomas SCHLESINGER (*Austria*),** Mr. Ugo SESSI (*Italy*),* Mr. Josiel Motumisi TAWANA (*South Africa*)*** and Ms. YOON Seongmee (*Republic of Korea*).**

- * Term of office expires on 31 December 2016.
- ** Term of office expires on 31 December 2017.
- *** Term of office expires on 31 December 2018.

70/419. Appointment of members of the Joint Inspection Unit

At its 84th plenary meeting, on 12 February 2016, the General Assembly, pursuant to article 3, paragraph 2, of the statute of the Joint Inspection Unit, contained in the annex to resolution 31/192 of 22 December 1976, appointed Mr. Jorge Flores Callejas as a member of the Joint Inspection Unit for a five-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2017 and expiring on 31 December 2021.

As a result, as of 1 January 2017, the Joint Inspection Unit is composed as follows: Ms. Aicha AFIFI (*Morocco*),*** Mr. George BARTSIOTAS (*United States of America*),* Mr. Jean Wesley CAZEAU (*Haiti*),* Mr. Petru DUMITRIU (*Romania*),*** Mr. Jorge FLORES CALLEJAS (*Honduras*),**** Mr. A. GOPINATHAN (*India*),* Mr. Jeremiah KRAMER (*Canada*),*** Ms. Sukai PROM-JACKSON (*Gambia*),* Ms. Gönke ROSCHER (*Germany*),*** Mr. Rajab SUKAYRI (*Jordan*)** and Mr. Gennady TARASOV (*Russian Federation*).*

70/420. Election of the Executive Director of the United Nations Environment Programme

At its 95th plenary meeting, on 13 May 2016, the General Assembly, on the proposal of the Secretary-General,¹⁰ elected Mr. Erik SOLHEIM as Executive Director of the United Nations Environment Programme, for a four-year term of office beginning on 15 June 2016 and ending on 14 June 2020.

At its 116th plenary meeting, on 9 September 2016, the General Assembly took note that the term of office of Mr. Erik SOLHEIM began on 27 June 2016 and would end on 26 June 2020.¹¹

70/421. Election of the President of the General Assembly at its seventy-first session¹²

At its 103rd plenary meeting, on 13 June 2016, the General Assembly, in accordance with Article 21 of the Charter of the United Nations, rule 30 of the rules of procedure of the Assembly and paragraph 1 of the annex to resolution 33/138 of 19 December 1978, elected Mr. Peter THOMSON of Fiji as President of the General Assembly at its seventy-first session.

70/422. Election of the Vice-Presidents of the General Assembly at its seventy-first session¹²

At its 103rd plenary meeting, on 13 June 2016, the General Assembly, in accordance with rule 30 of the rules of procedure of the Assembly and paragraphs 2 and 3 of the annex to resolution 33/138 of 19 December 1978, elected by acclamation the following 21 Member States as Vice-Presidents of the General Assembly at its seventy-

Term of office expires on 31 December 2017.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 2019.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 2020.

^{****} Term of office expires on 31 December 2021.

¹⁰ A/70/859.

¹¹ See A/70/859/Add.1.

¹² In accordance with rule 38 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly, the General Committee consists of the President of the Assembly, the 21 Vice-Presidents and the Chairs of the six Main Committees.

¹³ In accordance with rule 38 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly, the General Committee consists of the President of the Assembly, the 21 Vice-Presidents and the Chairs of the six Main Committees.