A. Elections and appointments

71/405. Appointment of members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions

 \mathbf{B}^1

At its 70th plenary meeting, on 8 March 2017, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the Fifth Committee, ² appointed Mr. Mutaz Hyassat as a member of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions for a term of office beginning on 8 March 2017 and ending on 31 December 2018, as a result of the resignation of Mr. Eihab Omaish.

At its 81st plenary meeting, on 11 May 2017, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the Fifth Committee,³ appointed Mr. Olivier Myard as a member of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions for a term of office beginning on 11 May 2017 and ending on 31 December 2019, as a result of the resignation of Ms. Catherine Vendat.

As a result, as of 11 May 2017, the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions is composed as follows: Mr. Takeshi AKAMATSU (*Japan*),*** Mr. Pavel CHERNIKOV (*Russian Federation*),* Mr. Fernando DE OLIVEIRA SENA (*Brazil*),* Mr. Ihor HUMENNYI (*Ukraine*),** Mr. Conrod HUNTE (*Antigua and Barbuda*),** Mr Mutaz HYASSAT (*Jordan*),** Mr. Marcel JULLIER (*Switzerland*),*** Mr. Mahesh KUMAR (*India*),*** Mr. Ali A. Ali KURER (*Libya*),* Mr. Dietrich LINGENTHAL (*Germany*),* Mr. Olivier MYARD (*France*),** Mr. Carlos RUIZ MASSIEU (*Mexico*),*** Mr. Babou SENE (*Senegal*),** Mr. Tesfa Alem SEYOUM (*Eritrea*),** Mr. David TRAYSTMAN (*United States of America*)* and Mr. YE Xuenong (*China*).***

71/406. Appointment of members of the Committee on Contributions

 \mathbf{B}^4

At its 81st plenary meeting, on 11 May 2017, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the Fifth Committee,⁵ appointed Ms. Zhang Wei as a member of the Committee on Contributions for a term of office beginning on 11 May 2017 and ending on 31 December 2017, as a result of the resignation of Mr. Fu Daopeng.

At its 84th plenary meeting, on 1 June 2017, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the Fifth Committee, appointed Mr. Steve Townley as a member of the Committee on Contributions for a term of office beginning on 1 June 2017 and ending on 31 December 2017, as a result of the resignation of Mr. Simon Hough.

As a result, as of 1 June 2017, the Committee on Contributions is composed as follows: Mr. Syed Yawar ALI (*Pakistan*),** Mr. Cheikh Tidiane Dème (*Senegal*),*** Ms. Jasminka DINIĆ (*Croatia*),** Mr. Gordon ECKERSLEY (*Australia*),*** Mr. Edward Faris (*United States of America*),** Mr. Bernardo Greiver del Hoyo (*Uruguay*),*** Mr. Nikolay Lozinskiy (*Russian Federation*),* Mr. Baudelaire Ndong Ella (*Gabon*),** Mr. Toshiro Ozawa (*Japan*),** Mr. Tonis Saar (*Estonia*),** Mr. Henrique da Silveira Sardinha Pinto (*Brazil*),* Mr. Thomas Schlesinger (*Austria*),* Mr. Ugo Sessi (*Italy*),*** Mr. Josiel Motumisi Tawana (*South Africa*),** Mr. Alejandro

Term of office expires on 31 December 2017.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 2018.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 2019.

¹ Decision 71/405, in section A of the *Official Records of the General Assembly, Seventy-first Session, Supplement No. 49* (A/71/49), vol. II, becomes decision 71/405 A.

² A/71/589/Add.1, para. 3.

³ A/71/589/Add.2, para. 3.

⁴ Decision 71/406, in section A of the *Official Records of the General Assembly, Seventy-first Session, Supplement No. 49* (A/71/49), vol. II, becomes decision 71/406 A.

⁵ A/71/590/Add.2, para 3.

⁶ A/71/590/Add.3, para 3.

TORRES LÉPORI (Argentina),*** Mr. Steve TOWNLEY (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland),* Ms. YOON Seongmee (Republic of Korea)* and Ms. ZHANG Wei (China).*

- * Term of office expires on 31 December 2017.
- ** Term of office expires on 31 December 2018.
- *** Term of office expires on 31 December 2019.

71/408. Appointment of members of the International Civil Service Commission

 \mathbf{B}^7

At its 81st plenary meeting, on 11 May 2017, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the Fifth Committee, appointed Mr. Vladimir Storozhev, as a member of the International Civil Service Commission for a term of office beginning on 11 May 2017 and ending on 31 December 2020, as a result of the resignation of Mr. Sergey Garmonin.

As a result, as of 11 May 2017, the International Civil Service Commission is composed as follows: Mr. Kingston Papie Rhodes (*Sierra Leone*),** Chair, Mr. Wolfgang Stöckl (*Germany*),* Vice-Chair, Ms. Marie-Françoise Bechtel (*France*),** Mr. Emmanuel Oti Boateng (*Ghana*),** Mr. Larbi Djacta (*Algeria*),*** Mr. Minoru Endo (*Japan*),* Mr. Mohammed Farashuddin (*Bangladesh*),** Ms. Carleen Gardner (*Jamaica*),** Mr. Luis Mariano Hermosillo Sosa (*Mexico*),* Mr. Aldo Mantovani (*Italy*),* Mr. Curtis Smith (*United States of America*),* Mr. Vladimir Storozhev (*Russian Federation*),*** Mr. Wang Xiaochu (*China*),*** Mr. Eugeniusz Wyzner (*Poland*)** and Mr. El Hassane Zahid (*Morocco*).***

- * Term of office expires on 31 December 2017.
- ** Term of office expires on 31 December 2018.
- *** Term of office expires on 31 December 2020.

71/411. Appointment of members of the Committee on Conferences

B

At its 69th plenary meeting, on 2 February 2017, the General Assembly, in accordance with paragraph 2 of its resolution 43/222 B of 21 December 1988, took note of the appointment by its President, after consultations with the Chair of the regional group concerned, of GUYANA as a member of the Committee on Conferences for a term of office beginning on 2 February 2017 and ending on 31 December 2018.

As a result, as of 2 February 2017, the Committee on Conferences is composed of the following 19 Member States: ¹⁰ Austria,*** Bahrain,* Central African Republic,* France,* Germany,** Ghana,** Guyana,** Hungary,** Iran (Islamic Republic of),** Jamaica,*** Japan,*** Kenya,*** Liberia,** Morocco,*** Namibia,* Paraguay,* Russian Federation,* Sri Lanka* and United States of America.***

^{*} Term of office expires on 31 December 2017.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 2018.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 2019.

⁷ Decision 71/408, in section A of the *Official Records of the General Assembly, Seventy-first Session, Supplement No.* 49 (A/71/49), vol. II, becomes decision 71/408 A.

⁸ A/71/592/Add.1, para. 3.

⁹ Decision 71/411, in section A of the *Official Records of the General Assembly, Seventy-first Session, Supplement No.* 49 (A/71/49), vol. II, becomes decision 71/411 A.

¹⁰ One vacancy for a member from Latin American and Caribbean States remains to be filled for a term of office beginning on the date of appointment and expiring on 31 December 2018 and one vacancy for a member from Asia-Pacific States remains to be filled for a term of office beginning on the date of appointment and expiring on 31 December 2019.