74/405. Election of members of the Human Rights Council

At its 17th plenary meeting, on 17 October 2019, the General Assembly, pursuant to its resolutions 60/251 of 15 March 2006 and 65/281 of 17 June 2011, elected ARMENIA, BRAZIL, GERMANY, INDONESIA, JAPAN, LIBYA, the MARSHALL ISLANDS, MAURITANIA, NAMIBIA, the NETHERLANDS, POLAND, the REPUBLIC OF KOREA, the SUDAN and VENEZUELA (BOLIVARIAN REPUBLIC OF) as members of the Human Rights Council for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2020 to fill the vacancies occurring on the expiration of the terms of office of BRAZIL, CHINA, CROATIA, CUBA, EGYPT, HUNGARY, ICELAND, IRAQ, JAPAN, RWANDA, SAUDI ARABIA, SOUTH AFRICA, TUNISIA and the UNITED KINGDOM OF GREAT BRITAIN AND NORTHERN IRELAND.

As a result, as of 1 January 2020, the Human Rights Council is composed of the following 47 Member States:⁵ AFGHANISTAN,* ANGOLA,* ARGENTINA,** ARMENIA,*** AUSTRALIA,* AUSTRIA,** BAHAMAS,** BAHRAIN,** BANGLADESH,** BRAZIL,*** BULGARIA,** BURKINA FASO,** CAMEROON,** CHILE,* CZECHIA,** DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC OF THE CONGO,* DENMARK,** ERITREA,** FIJI,** GERMANY,*** INDIA,** INDONESIA,*** ITALY,** JAPAN,*** LIBYA,*** MARSHALL ISLANDS,*** MAURITANIA,*** MEXICO,* NAMIBIA,*** NEPAL,* NETHERLANDS,*** NIGERIA,* PAKISTAN,* PERU,* PHILIPPINES,** POLAND,*** QATAR,* REPUBLIC OF KOREA,*** SENEGAL,* SLOVAKIA,* SOMALIA,** SPAIN,* SUDAN,*** TOGO,** UKRAINE,* URUGUAY** and VENEZUELA (BOLIVARIAN REPUBLIC OF).***

74/406. Appointment of members of the Committee on Contributions

At its 29th plenary meeting, on 8 November 2019, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the Fifth Committee,⁶ appointed the following persons as members of the Committee on Contributions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2020: Mr. Cheikh Tidiane Dème, Mr. Gordon Eckersley, Mr. Bernardo Greiver del Hoyo, Mr. Ugo Sessi and Mr. Alejandro Torres Lépori.

At its 36th plenary meeting, on 27 November 2019, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the Fifth Committee,⁷ appointed Mr. Mohamed Mahmoud Ould El Ghaouth as a member of the Committee on Contributions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2020.

As a result, as of 1 January 2020, the Committee on Contributions is composed as follows: Mr. Syed Yawar ALI (*Pakistan*),** Mr. Jakub CHMIELEWSKI (*Poland*),** Mr. Cheikh Tidiane DÈME (*Senegal*),*** Mr. Gordon ECKERSLEY (*Australia*),*** Mr. Mohamed Mahmoud Ould EL GHAOUTH (Mauritania),*** Mr. Bernardo GREIVER DEL HOYO (*Uruguay*),*** Mr. Michael HOLTSCH (*Germany*),* Mr. Vadim LAPUTIN (*Russian Federation*),* Mr. Robert Ngei MULE (*Kenya*),** Mr. NA Sang-deok (*Republic of Korea*),* Mr. Toshiro OZAWA (*Japan*),** Mr. Tõnis SAAR (*Estonia*),** Mr. Henrique da Silveira SARDINHA PINTO (*Brazil*),* Mr. Brett Dennis SCHAEFER (*United States of America*),** Mr. Ugo SESSI (*Italy*),*** Mr. Alejandro TORRES LÉPORI (*Argentina*),*** Mr. Steve TOWNLEY (*United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland*)* and Ms. ZHANG Wei (*China*).*

^{*} Term of office expires on 31 December 2020.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 2021.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 2022.

^{*} Term of office expires on 31 December 2020.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 2021.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 2022.

⁵ Brazil, Japan, Nigeria, the Philippines, Qatar and Togo are serving their second consecutive term.

⁶ A/74/525, para. 4.

⁷ A/74/525/Add.1, para. 4.