GERMANY,\*\* GHANA,\*\* GUYANA,\*\* IRAN (ISLAMIC REPUBLIC OF),\*\* IRAQ,\* JAMAICA,\*\*\* JAPAN,\*\*\* NEPAL,\*
RUSSIAN FEDERATION,\* SENEGAL,\*\* SIERRA LEONE,\* UKRAINE\*\* and UNITED STATES OF AMERICA.\*\*\*

## 74/412. Appointment of members and alternate members of the United Nations Staff Pension Committee

At its 36th plenary meeting, on 27 November 2019, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the Fifth Committee, <sup>17</sup> appointed Mr. Tomoya Yamaguchi as a member of the United Nations Staff Pension Committee for a term of office beginning on 27 November 2019 and ending on 31 December 2020.

As a result, the United Nations Staff Pension Committee is composed as follows: Mr. Dmitry Chumakov (*Russian Federation*), Mr. Lovemore Mazemo (*Zimbabwe*), Mr. Philip Richard Okanda OWADE (*Kenya*), Ms. Pía POROLI (*Argentina*), Mr. Md. Mustafizur Rahman (*Bangladesh*), Mr. Thomas A. Repasch, Jr. (*United States of America*), Mr. Jörg Stosberg (*Germany*) and Mr. Tomoya Yamaguchi (*Japan*).

## 74/413. Election of members of the Organizational Committee of the Peacebuilding Commission

At its 51st plenary meeting, on 18 December 2019, the General Assembly, pursuant to its resolutions 60/180 of 20 December 2005 and 63/145 of 18 December 2008, elected PERU and SLOVAKIA as members of the Organizational Committee of the Peacebuilding Commission for a two-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2020 to fill the vacancies occurring on the expiration of the terms of office of CZECHIA and EL SALVADOR.

Pursuant to paragraphs 4 (a) to (d) of resolution 60/180, 28 States have already been elected and/or selected as members of the Organizational Committee of the Peacebuilding Commission: EGYPT, GUATEMALA, KENYA, MEXICO and NEPAL elected by the General Assembly; 18 CHINA, DOMINICAN REPUBLIC, FRANCE, NIGER, RUSSIAN FEDERATION, UNITED KINGDOM OF GREAT BRITAIN AND NORTHERN IRELAND and UNITED STATES OF AMERICA selected by the Security Council; 19 BRAZIL, COLOMBIA, IRAN (ISLAMIC REPUBLIC OF), IRELAND, MALI and REPUBLIC OF KOREA elected by the Economic and Social Council; 20 CANADA, GERMANY, JAPAN, NORWAY and SWEDEN selected by and from among the top 10 providers of assessed contributions to United Nations budgets and of voluntary contributions to United Nations funds, programmes and agencies, including a standing peacebuilding fund; 21 and BANGLADESH, ETHIOPIA, INDIA, PAKISTAN and RWANDA selected by and from among the top 10 providers of military personnel and civilian police to United Nations missions. 22

As a result, on 1 January 2020, the Organizational Committee of the Peacebuilding Commission is composed of the following 30 Member States:<sup>23</sup> BANGLADESH,\*\* BRAZIL,\*\*\*\* CANADA,\*\* CHINA,\* COLOMBIA,\*\*\*\* DOMINICAN REPUBLIC,\*\* EGYPT,\*\* ETHIOPIA,\*\* FRANCE,\* GERMANY,\*\* GUATEMALA,\*\* INDIA,\*\* IRAN (ISLAMIC REPUBLIC OF),\*\*\* IRELAND,\*\*\* JAPAN,\*\* KENYA,\*\* MALI,\*\*\* MEXICO,\*\* NEPAL,\*\* NIGER,\*\* NORWAY,\*\*

Term of office expires on 31 December 2020.

<sup>\*\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 2021.

<sup>\*\*\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 2022.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>17</sup> A/74/545, para.4.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>18</sup> See decision 73/413 A.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>19</sup> See S/2020/76.

 $<sup>^{\</sup>rm 20}$  See Economic and Social Council decisions 2019/201 A and B.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>21</sup> See A/73/663.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>22</sup> See A/73/603.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>23</sup> As Romania's membership on the Economic and Social Council ends on 31 December 2019, one vacancy for a Council member remains to be filled for a term of office beginning on the date of election in 2020 and expiring on 31 December 2020.