General Assembly: Press Release

31 December 2019

The global climate emergency as well as zero-sum geopolitics, declining development assistance and rising global debt set the backdrop for world leaders as the General Assembly began the annual general debate for its seventy-fourth session, with many calling for solidarity to meet the planet’s most pressing challenges.

13 December 2019

The United Nations Special Committee on Decolonization, currently chaired by Keisha Aniya McGuire (Grenada), will undertake a visiting mission to Montserrat from 17 to 20 December, while also holding meetings in Antigua and Barbuda.

26 November 2019

The Committee on the Exercise of the Inalienable Rights of the Palestinian People will hold a special meeting on 27 November in observance of the International Day of Solidarity with the Palestinian People.

1 October 2019

The First Committee (Disarmament and International Security) elected Sacha Sergio Llorentty Solíz (Bolivia) as Chair on 4 June.  (See Press Release GA/12149.)

1 October 2019

The Fourth Committee (Special Political and Decolonization) elected Mohammed Hussein Bahr Aluloom (Iraq) as its Chair on 4 June.  (See Press Release GA/12149.)

1 October 2019

The Second Committee (Economic and Financial) elected Cheikh Niang (Senegal) as Chair on 4 June 2019.  (See Press Release GA/12149.)

1 October 2019

The Sixth Committee (Legal) elected Michal Mlynár (Slovakia) Chair on 4 June.  (See Press Release GA/12149.)

1 October 2019

The Third Committee (Social, Humanitarian and Cultural) elected Christian Frédéric Braun (Luxembourg) Chair on 4 June.  (See Press Release GA/12149.)

17 September 2019

On 4 June 2019, the United Nations General Assembly elected Tijjani Muhammad-Bande, Permanent Representative of Nigeria, President of its seventy-fourth session.

29 April 2019

The Special Committee on Decolonization will hold the 2019 Caribbean Regional Seminar in Saint George’s, Grenada, from 2 to 4 May with a view to accelerating action in implementation of the third International Decade for the Eradication of Colonialism (2011-2020).