



Department of Economic and Social Affairs

Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women Twenty-fifth anniversary of its adoption by the General Assembly of the United Nations

Commemorative Round Table

13 October 2004, 3:00 to 6:00 pm United Nations Headquarters, New York Conference Room 1

Preliminary programme

Speakers

Mr. Jean Ping, President of the fifty-ninth session of the General Assembly (invited)
Ms. Louise Fréchette, Deputy Secretary-General of the United Nations

Dame Silvia Rose Cartwright, Governor General of New Zealand, member of the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women, 1993-2000

Mr. José Antonio Ocampo, Under-Secretary-General, Department of Economic and Social Affairs

Ms. Thoraya Obaid, Executive Director, UNFPA, on behalf of entities of the United Nations system
Ms. Ivanka Corti, Chairperson of the Committee, 1993-1996
Ms. Salma Khan, Chairperson of the Committee, 1997-1998

Ms. Aída González Martínez, Chairperson of the Committee, 1999-2000
Ms. Charlotte Abaka, Chairperson of the Committee, 2001-2002

Ms. Angela E.V. King, former Special Adviser on Gender Issues and Advancement of Women
Ms. Shanthi Dairiam, Executive Director, IWRAW Asia Pacific
Ms. Bani Dugal, Chairperson, NGO Committee on the Status of Women

Moderator of the Round Table

Ms. Ayse Feride Acar, Chairperson, Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women, 2003-2004

Delegations, representatives of NGOs and the media, and staff members are cordially invited to attend