CEDAW elections

At a meeting of States parties to the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women held at United Nations headquarters in New York on 5 August, eleven new members were elected to the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women. They are:

Ms. Mary Shanthi Dairiam (Malaysia), Ms. Magalys Arocha Dominguez (Cuba), Ms. Françoise Gaspard (France), Ms. Tiziana Maiolo (Italy), Ms. Silvia Pimentel (Brazil), Ms. Hanna Beate Schöpp-Schilling (Germany), Ms. Heisoo Shin (Republic of Korea), Ms. Glenda P. Simms (Jamaica), Ms. Anamah Tan (Singapore), Ms. Maria Regina Tavares da Silva (Portugal), and Ms. Zou Xiaoqiao (China).

The term of office of these newly-elected members begins on 1 January 2005 and expires on 31 December 2008.

The following twelve members continue to serve on the Committee until 31 December 2006:

Ms. Meriem Belmihoub-Zerdani (Algeria), Ms. Dorcas Coker-Appiah (Ghana), Mr. Cornelis Flinterman (Netherlands), Ms. Naela Mohamed Gabr (Egypt), Ms. Huguette Bokpe Gnacadja (Benin), Ms. Salma Khan (Bangladesh), Ms. Rosario G. Manalo (Philippines), Ms. Krisztina Morvai (Hungary), Ms. Pramila Patten (Mauritius), Ms. Victoria Popescu (Romania), Ms. Fumiko Saiga (Japan), and Ms. Dubravka Šimonovic (Croatia).