Meeting of States parties to the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women

Thirteenth meeting New York, 05 August 2004 Item 5 of the provisional agenda*

Election, in accordance with article 17, paragraphs 4 and 5, of the Convention, of eleven members of the Committee, to replace those whose terms are due to expire on 31 December 2004

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. In accordance with article 17, paragraph 4, of the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women, the Secretary-General will convene the thirteenth meeting of States parties at United Nations Headquarters on 05 August 2004, for the election of 11 members of the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women from a list of persons nominated by States parties to replace those whose terms are due to expire on 31 December 2004.
- 2. In compliance with article 17, paragraph 3, of the Convention, the Secretary-General, in a note verbale dated 2 February 2004, invited the States parties to submit their nominations for the election of 11 members of the Committee not later than 15 April 2004. The Secretary-General has prepared the following list, in alphabetical order, of all persons nominated by 15 April 2004, indicating the States parties that had nominated them.

^{*} CEDAW/SP/2004/1

Candidate	Nominated by
Ayse Feride Acar	Turkey
Doris Acevedo Izaguirre	Venezuela
Sjamsiah Achmad	Indonesia
Magalys Arocha Dominguez	Cuba
Mary Shanthi Dairiam	Malaysia
Natalya Drozyd	Belarus
Alda Maria Facio Montejo	Costa Rica
Francoise Gaspard	France
Antonia Guvava	Zimbabwe
Ressolguessida Clémence	Burkina Faso
Ilboudo/Sawadogo	
Fatimah Kwaku	Nigeria
Maria Das Dores Lima Gomes	Cape Verde
Maître Maïga Soyata	Mali
Tiziana Maiolo	Italy
Göran Melander	Sweden
Hope R. Mwesigye	Uganda
Maria Jesús Nkara Owono Nse	Equatorial Guinea
Silvia Pimentel	Brazil
Hanna Beate Schöpp-Schilling	Germany
Heisoo Shin	Republic of Korea
Glenda P. Simms	Jamaica
Anamah Tan	Singapore
Maria Regina Tavares da Silva	Portugal
Taufa Vakatale O.F., J.P.	Fiji
Zou Xiaoqiao	China